My driver’s license is expiring, is there an extension to renew?
Gov. Walz signed two bills into law that extend the expiration dates of driver’s licenses, ID cards and permits that expire during and the month after the COVID-19 peacetime emergency ends to two months after the peacetime emergency ends.
What that means:
DPS-DVS will automatically extend the expiration to March 31, 2021, for any driver’s license, ID card or permit that would have expired between March 13, 2020 and Feb. 28, 2021. Minnesotans will not receive a new credential, but their record will reflect the new expiration date.
- Anyone with credentials expiring March 1, 2021 or later will need to renew on time, despite any extension of the COVID-19 peacetime emergency, unless DVS is granted legislative authority to extend those expiration dates.
- Those with credentials extended to March 31, 2021, will need to renew their license or ID card by that date.
- Commercial driver's license cardholders have an extension ending no later than Feb. 28, 2021, unless the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) chooses to extend beyond that date.
- Commercial Drivers must follow the current federal law - for the most current information visit https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/COVID-19
- Minnesotans will not receive a new credential, but their record will reflect the new expiration date.
- Any valid driver’s license, instruction permit (including commercial learner’s permits), provisional license, operator’s permit, limited license and farm work license. This includes valid out of state driver’s licenses, ID cards and permits.
Can I renew my standard driver’s license or ID card online?
Appointments for Minnesota Driver’s Licenses and ID cards
Are you ready to make an appointment? Click here to schedule a Drivers License Appointments
New or returning resident to Minnesota
A standard driver’s license or ID is acceptable for domestic air travel until October 1st, 2021.
- Be at least 15 years old
- Have completed 30 hours of classroom instruction and enrollment in behind-the-wheel instruction
- If you are 18 or older, classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction is not required
- Pass a vision screening and knowledge (written) test
Apply in Person
Click here to schedule Drivers License Appointments
Remember to bring
- One primary and one secondary document from the identification list
- Your social security number if you have one
- If you are under 18, a parent or guardian with proper identification must be present
- Proof of your completed classroom instruction
- Proof of enrollment in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Knowledge test results (Please note we are not a testing facility - see MN DVS Locations for the closest office)
Under 18 limitations
- Supervising driver must be 21 years old or older.
- Every occupant must wear a seat belt or use a child passenger restraint system.
- You may not use, or talk on, a cell phone while driving (with or without a hands-free device).
18 and older limitations
- Supervising driver must be 18 years old or older.
- All passengers must wear a seat belt or use a child passenger restraint system.
$15.50 - valid for two years from the date of application
You can pay with cash, check (payable to Scott County) or credit card. If you pay with a credit card you will be paying a 2.45% convenience fee.