Applicant Information

Applicants must:
  • Apply in person
  • Be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
  • Provide an accurate copy of certificate (Sheriff’s Office will make copies if necessary) of firearms training by a Minnesota BCA certified instructor including fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, (MN statute 624.714, sub. 2a)
    • If you are a Peace Officer within the state of Minnesota, you may show proof of current employment or employment within the last year in lieu of a certificate of training.
  • Provide an accurate color photocopy ID (driver’s license, state photo identification card or valid passport with photo and current address matching the address on the application) (The Sheriff’s Office will make copies if necessary.)
  • Complete the State Application Form (PDF)
  • Pay a $50 fee (cash, check and credit card payments accepted)

In addition, applicants must not be prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. A person who is otherwise ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction but who has obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights must submit a copy of the relevant order when applying.